Homemade Ketchup

homemade ketchup jars

“Americans can eat garbage, provided you sprinkle it liberally with ketchup, mustard, chili sauce, Tabasco sauce, cayenne pepper, or any other condiment which destroys the original flavor of the dish”

-Henry Miller

I can generally take or leave ketchup, but it occurred to me that I have never had ketchup that didn’t come from the store.

What if home made ketchup turned out to be the greatest thing ever?

So here it is.

Using a recipe found in Darina Allen’s fantastic “Forgotten Skills of Cooking”, I bring you homemade ketchup.

Thinner than the store bought stuff and sweeter than I’d like, but it IS super tomato-y.

I’m prepared to call it a success, although it did not turn out to be the greatest thing ever. Heinz may rest easy.

But come on. I made ketchup!

Originally: Homemade Ketchup

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

