Chocolate Pecan Pie

chocolate pecan pie

For me, the rich, mellow, nutty pecan is the star of this show, but you chocolate fans may disagree. Either way, this easy to make pie is a winner.

Chatting with a former student today, I asked his to reccommend a good pie. His first suggestion was coconut cream. We did that one on day two, but he was off to a good start. His follow up was the chocolate pecan pie. And away we go.

I have to admit, I’m not the fan of chocolate so many people are. I mean, it’s *ok*, but I have never understood the rapture it brings to some. I have read that the chemicals found in the sweet treat result in a psychoactive cocktail not dissimilar to those produced when one falls in love. A 2007 UK study suggested that chocolate was more rewarding to many than passionate kissing and some 50% of women reported a preference to chocolate over physical intimacy. I can only say they must be doing it wrong.

Whatever that is, that chemical rush chocolate sends through the system – I don’t get it. It’s fine. I don’t dislike it. But chocolate is rarely my first choice and can sometimes wreck a prefectly good dessert.

Not in this case, though. While I expected this one to be way too sweet for my taste, the toasty bite of the pecan is well complemented here.

But I’m still going to go with the passionate kissing.

RECIPE (adapted from Emeril)

Crust

3-2-1 Single Shell

Filling

1 1/2 c Pecans

1 c Semisweet Chocolate Chips

4 Eggs, beaten

1/3 c Sugar

1/3 c Light Brown Sugar

1/2 c Light Corn Syrup

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Pinch Salt

Spread pecans and chocolate chips evenly in bottom of pie shell.

Whisk all other ingredients together and pour slowly and evenly into shell.

Bake 50 minutes in 375 degree oven. Cool before serving.

Note: a pie shield is especially recommended for this one.

Originally: Chocolate Pecan Pie

This entry was posted in Pievember, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

