Chicken Adobo

chicken adobo

Day 10

I didn’t think this Phillippine national dish would do much for me. I had a hard time getting behind a stew that wasn’t happy with vegetables. I mean, chicken, vinegar and garlic is a good start, but where are the onions? The carrots? Grant me a potato at least. But when a friend sent me this New York Times article, I was intrigued. I like the idea that so many people have varied feelings about what such a simple dish is supposed to be and all be right. So this is my take on Adobo. I looked through quite a few recipes (standouts being found in “The Philippine Cookbook” and a couple of “my grandmother’s recipe” posts) and tried to be true to the concept. What I ended up with tastes great and is exactly what adobo is suppsed to be.

And I’ll fight any man who says otherwise.

RECIPE

INGREDIENTS

3 Lb Chicken, cut into bite sized pieces

6 Cloves Garlic, minced

1/2 cup white vinegar

1/2 cup soy sauce

2 bay leaves

1 Tbsp Whole Black Peppercorns

2 tsp black pepper

2 tsp Cumin

1 Tbsp Brown Sugar

Pinch Salt

1 c Coconut Milk

1 c Rice

DIRECTIONS

Sautee garlic in a heavy pot. Add chicken to sear. Remove rom heat and add all other ingredients, save coconut milk and rice. Refrigerate at least 2 hours to marinate.

Return to boil, then reduce to simmer 45 minutes. Add coconut milk and cook 15 minutes longer.

Cook rice seperately and divide between bowls. ladle stew over rice and serve.

Originally: Chicken Adobo

This entry was posted in Recipes, Soupruary and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

