Ambrosia Fruit Salad

ambrosia fruit salad

M: Six ingredients. All prepackaged. Dump, stir, chill and eat. Takes about five minutes of preparation. The result is a very nice take on this classic picnic favorite. It’s familiar, It’s colorful. It travels fairly well and when you bring it to your family reunion, your Aunt Marva will be delighted. What’s not to love? Not a darn thing. So what’s my problem? It’s not you, ambrosia fruit salad. It’s me.

Here’s the thing. Every part of this recipe comes prepackaged in a can or bag. I like working from scratch. I could go on here about how much better it is to cook locally and seasonally and all that packaging is bad for the world. It isn’t about that though. What it comes down is nothing more than I like it better because I enjoy working from basic ingredients. I know it is perfectly logical to open a few cans. Why mess around? And yet I see this recipe and I immediately start to wonder how to produce maraschino cherries myself or if home made mini-marshmallows are any trickier to pull off than standard ‘mallows. It’s a little obnoxious, I know, and I only admit it here by way of full kitchen disclosure. To make matters worse, I am wildly inconsistent with this policy. But there it is. I feel somewhat pardoned here only in that the submitter of this recipe revealed a similar hesitation. So I stuck to the recipe as published and it is as good an ambrosia salad as you’re likely to find.  Truth be told, ambrosia is not really to my taste, but that is on me as well.  Say what you want, this is easy.  Maybe a little *too* easy.

I still read up on how to make maraschino cherries.

Recipe: Ambrosia Fruit Salad

Summary: A quick and easy recipe for the picnic classic. Sigh. From The Southern Foodways Alliance Community Cookbook

Ingredients

  • 1 (11oz) Can Mandarin Oranges, drained
  • 1 (5oz) Jar Maraschino Cherries, with juice
  • 1 (20oz) Can Pineapple Tidbits, drained
  • 1/2 c Flaked Coconut
  • 1 c Sour Cream
  • 1 c Mini Marshmallows

Instructions

  1. Stir all ingredients together and refrigerate overnight.

ambrosia fruit salad 2

Originally: Ambrosia Fruit Salad

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

