Country Breakfast Sausage

Country Breakfast Sausage

M: It’s a good recipe. Nice balance of savory with a bit of sweet and a touch of heat. “Country” in “Country Sausage” generally seems to be sausage code for including sage and here that is no exception. This is an excellent starting point for homemade sausage. Works well as is, but is also wide open for tweaking to taste. I’ll probably bump the heat and take the sweet down a little, left to my own devices. No small benefit of making sausage at home. Which brings me to what should be the headline here. Go get yourself a meat grinder.

I held off far longer than I should have. I always figured that for a single use appliance, I’m unlikely to do enough grinding to make it worth my while. Of course, it isn’t really single use. Grinders can be used to process vegetables, cheese or nuts. You can make bread crumbs or grind whole grains into cereal. And I bet a bunch of other stuff too. But you know, I’ve only had it a week.

This recipe was a great excuse to pull the trigger. I did shop around a little. There are a lot more choices than I’d have guessed. Hand crank or electricSmall or large batch. Free standing or counter mount. I ended up going with my first instinct, which is a surprisingly effective attachment for my KitchenAid.

I’m sure the bloom will come off the rose, but for now I am enthralled. Not only is it shockingly easy to use, my (sometimes unreasonable) desire to take things to “scratch” level as much as possible is well fed. And not for nothing, I like knowing exactly what’s in the sausage I’m eating.

And there is no arguing with the freshest of meat in sausage form (straight from the Nahunta Pork Center outlet, in my case). The difference between fresh ground and pre-ground is as good as it seems like it’d be. I’m hooked. Today pork, tomorrow the world. If I can get it to fit through that little hole.

I also got the sausage stuffer attachment.  This is going to be fun!

sausage stuffer attachment

One last comment on this recipe. As published in the book, it calls for fifty pounds of pork. I decimated that. Fifty pounds is kind of a lot. I had so much fun doing it though, I may not hold back next time.

Recipe: Country Breakfast Sausage

Summary: Grinding it yourself is a tasty way to know exactly what is lurking in your breakfast sausage.  Adapted from The Southern Foodways Alliance Community Cookbook.

Ingredients

  • 5 lb Fresh Pork, cut into 1″ cubes
  • 2 T Salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp Black Pepper
  • 1 1/2 tsp Rubbed Sage
  • 1/2 tsp Cayenne Pepper
  • 1 tsp Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1 1/2 T Brown Sugar

Instructions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl.
  2. Grind using a sausage grinder equipped with a small gauge plate. Keep meat as cold as possible while grinding.
  3. Press into patties or fry loose.
  4. May be stored three days in refrigerator or frozen for several months.

Originally: Country Breakfast Sausage

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

